Don’t Just Catch the Ball, Hold it!

IMG_1375adj2

Can’t bat, can’t bowl, can’t catch. Well, in the words of Meat Loaf…

Hold on, that makes absolutely no sense! Anyway, what I’m trying to say is that despite my ineptitude with the bat and as a bowler, I have been known to take more than my fair share of catches. The notion of me providing cricket tuition to anybody is almost laughable. It’s kind of like me telling Bear Grylls to “Lean horizontal and just abseil down that 500ft precipice”. However, here are my thoughts on fielding:

When fortunate enough to play on a saturday, we play 45 overs per side. That’s 270 deliveries plus a few extras in the field. For every single one of those 270 balls that are bowled, I’m anticipating that the ball is coming my way… in the air. I don’t think that most people do that. They’re just fielding and will react on the occasional occasions that the ball comes their way. My method may seem taxing but doesn’t a batsman focus on every delivery possibly for hour upon hour? When the ball does come my way and I’ve caught it, it is in that moment the really important bit happens. You do not relax! The job is not done. Catching the ball is only part of the process. You must HOLD onto the ball, you must prepare your body for landing without losing grip of the ball despite elbows thudding the ground or a foot straying over a boundary rope. You’ll see so many amateur, even professional cricketers catch the ball. Anybody can catch but can they hold onto the ball? Can they hold onto that spherical cork and leather combo like it’s the love of their life?!!!

I am of course destined to now spend the summer months spilling chances left, right and center!

Stephen Hawking, Albert Einstein, Isaac Newton, John Nash. These men all had theories. Well I too have a theory… Don’t just catch the ball, hold it!

Leave a Reply

