Don Bradman Cricket 17: A Ton in the Sun!

IMG_3311

Let’s take this opportunity to celebrate my First Class career best innings of 137 for Yorkshire against Hampshire at the Ageas Bowl in the County Championship but also to provide a little insight into where Don Bradman Cricket 17 on the PS4 (Also available on Xbox One and Steam) currently stands. Regarding the Hampshire match, I was actually captain and when I came to the crease in the second innings we were three wickets down and still behind the host’s first innings total. I then ran Joe Root (27) out but first Jonny Bairstow and then David Willey (Career team selection now more dynamic) hung around as I batted aggressively but not recklessly, selecting the right ball and field placings when going aerial. I had one stroke of luck when I was dropped on about 70. Hamps’ were left requiring 238 to win and a last wicket stand of 29 got them within 12 runs before their number eleven was out in exactly the way you’d expect someone to be so in that situation… stumped!

Onto the game in general:

Firstly: When you login to career, you’re now promptly dropped for the first match after each login. I think that if you save the game at a certain point then it’s avoidable but it’s one of many little nuisances in the game that add up.

Secondly: Batting average seems to be calculating ‘more correctly’ but it’s still unclear if not outs are being counted as they should be. In a new career that I’ve started, I’ve batted once and scored 31 not out but on the statistics panel on the player page it says no not outs. On my older careers the statistics panel and the information on screen when I walk out to bat don’t match. I need to have another bat or two in my new career to confirm things but ultimately statistics still aren’t accurate across the board.

Thirdly: Outisde of career mode, so in casual or tour matches, no statistics are saved. For example: Mark Footitt has played a few Tests for me but his performances don’t record anywhere. On DBC14 I created my village team and played match after match analysing player’s averages and how they went up or down. It’s a strange omission from the game and has been keenly discussed on the forum…

https://www.planetcricket.org/forums/forums/don-bradman-cricket-17-forum.306/

Fourthly: Back to career. When you start at Club T20 level, at the beginning you select your team then five opposition from the local area to be in your league. In my new career I’m playing for Redcar under the Durham umbrella. I selected local teams such as Berwick and South Shields but have Lancashire’s Burnley and Yorkshire’s Keighley to travel to!

Fifthly: This probably played a part in my what I seem to recall were back to back centuries. After the last patch my player rating went from about 70 to 87! You gain skill points for performance and apply them to various skills and techniques within the three disciplines but obviously now being 87 means I should be competing with the best of ’em.

I find gameplay in general really good and the concept of career mode is great. That’s what makes it really frustrating that the… frustrations are such simple things as statistics that were correct on the original instalment of the game.

As has probably been the case for many loyal fans of Don Bradman Cricket for sometime now, I’ll keep my fingers crossed that they’ll be just one more patch, just one more patch, please!

I hope that loyal Silly Pointers will look forward to my future England match reports. I’ve designed four new kits (Test, ODI, T20I and Exhibition) and look forward to sharing my designs with you as the team go in search of global success. I’ve also designed a new bat that at least some of the players will be using.

Leave a Reply

